New album ‘Togetherings’ by multicultural formation The Blassics

Apr 29th, 2019

Category: news

New album ‘Togetherings’ by multicultural formation The Blassics

How hot can it be in the Arctic? Take a listen to “Togetherings”, the fourth studio album by Finland-based rhythm music combo The Blassics, to find out. Going against the grain of individualistic discourse and hero artists, this album brings to your ears a sizzling collection of musical treats 9-piece ensemble The Blassics has achieved through the delicate art of listening to one another. Including both planned compositions such as “Hagerun Geleba” and completely improvised material like “Why is the Chicken Running?”, new album “Togetherings” showcases the band’s natural chemistry and reminds us about the important role of music in cultivating joy, healing and hanging out.

What started in 2010 as a production duo by funk aficionados Sarkkola and Tammi by 2017 had grown into a 7-piece ensemble with three full-length albums under its belt and a reputation as one of the most prominent Finnish afro-funk-jazz collectives out there. With the addition in 2018 of Beninese percussionist Victor Tokpanou and Ethiopian singer MikiMac (Mikiyas Getachew), The Blassics have blossomed into the 9-piece formation that now brings us their tightest work yet with “Togetherings”.

Entirely composed by The Blassics, the 6 tracks of “Togetherings” weave together a vibrant palette of afro-funk, Ethio-jazz and hypnotic grooves that all extend beyond radio-friendly limits and industry standards. Recorded live on 8-track tape at Odd Funk Records analog studio in Hämeenlinna, Finland, the album delves into the roots of deep and spacey funk, afro and jazz while carefully applying Arctic seasoning and crispy tape sound. Mastering by Jukka Sarapää at Timmion gives this Blassical music collection the ultimate audio icing.

“Togetherings” is released as a digital download and limited edition vinyl of 500 copies by Odd Funk Records on April 30th 2019. The record is distributed worldwide by Painted Dog Records.

All titles by The Blassics: Ville-Pekka Järvinen on bass, Joona Venäläinen on drums, Hanna Lotti on flute, Juha Sarkkola on guitar, Jukka Teerisaari and Victor Tokpanou on percussions, Mikko Veijonen on sax, Tuure Tammi on trumpet, MikiMac (Mikiyas Getachew) on vocals.

“Togetherings” out on LP Digital on April 30th via Odd Funk Records