The Funkstamatics

What they say…

“So much 60s groove it’s tantamount to a mod missile!”





The Funkstamatics (formerly known as Euro Cinema) are a funk group from the Netherlands, founded in 2008 by Tim den Heijer (guitar), Niels Piay (drums), Dennis Orsel (bass) and Rob Schepens (Hammond & vintage keys) and often joined by Efraïm Trujillo (saxophone).

After their first demo was picked up by trend setting funk DJs including Maestro, the group started to build a solid live reputation with shows “dripping with excitement and fun”. They opened the Saint Paul Soul Jazz Festival in France, played aftershows for The Commodores and Kool & The Gang and jammed with members of Bootsy’s Rubber band.

Their debut vinyl single “Brooklyn Groove” was released by Hammondbeat Records in 2009. Since then, the band has released several other singles, featured on various compilations and presented 3 albums at Amsterdam’s legendary club Paradiso. Due to reasons both legal and funky they changed their name from Euro Cinema to Funkstamatics in 2015, after the name of their second album “Funkstamatic” released the prior year.

As the Funkstamatics, they released the album “Lift Off”, compilation “Koekwaus The Best Of The Euro Cinema Years” and the single “Happy Acorn”. Single “Koekwaus” was handpicked by BBC star Craig Charles for one of his legendary compilation albums. The track (both the original and horns heavy remix) has been streamed over 150.000 times since.

Expect more tracks coming soon in a variety of funk styles from down and dirty hammond jams to tight grooves with a Minneapolis flavour!


For more:
The Funkstamatics’ website
The Funkstamatics on facebook
The Funkstamatics on twitter
The Funkstamatics on instagram